Boobylicious

Let me preface this post by saying it isn’t about the hardest workout ever or the highest protein recipe ever, there will be more of them in the future, don’t you worry.

Did you know 1 in 8 women will develop breast cancer at some point in their life? So if you are lucky enough to not have to endure the hardship of this disease, odds are, someone you know will not be so lucky. This disease is #2 cause of cancer deaths in women, behind lung cancer. Lung cancer = ‘Don’t smoke’… Breast Cancer = ?

Anyway, I’m not going to stroll down memory lane of my mother’s struggle because that is her personal story. But I do want to share a picture of us from the Making Strides Against Breast Cancer Walk this year now that we are fresh out of awareness month.

Making Strides - 2014 October

For 3 years I was captain of team ‘Boobylicious‘ for the American Cancer Society Walk. Not only did they have a local event, but they are also a non-profit organization. From the first event possible, the year my mother was diagnosed, I initiated this. {She wasn’t even 50 years old yet.} Her and my father were rather private about the disease, telling us only what we “needed” to know. So this walk was the only way I knew how to literally show her I care. We grew to a team over 60 people deep and raised thousands of dollars. It was quite the production and incredibly inspiring to feel the positive support from all. It almost became a tradition by our 3rd year, almost.

Last year she called it off and did not wish to walk. (hey, that was easier for me right? less planning and fundraising, etc) She is now considered to be in remission, which was never supposed to be possible because her stage 4 breast cancer (that was mistakenly diagnosed as calcium deposits for years) had spread into her bones. I believe that last year, she was so elated her illness was “over”, that it was to the point she didn’t want people to go out of their way to attend & donate because that would mean they still view her as a ‘cancer patient’.

We are incredibly grateful her road to recovery has come so far and I am happy she was willing to participate again. Whatever her new perspective may be, I’m glad we all got to spend the time together.

 

Leave a Reply

