It ain’t called FUNfetti for nothin!

Shout out to the Super Sisters for combining {quite possibly} my favorite two foods on earth… protein pancakes and birthday cake flavored anything!

So lately I have been losing my confidence in protein pancakes due to the fact that multiple recent attempts have been epic failures. SO when I embarked on this mission, with my hankering for funfetti in mind, I was determined to complete them- no… matter… what!

The batter itself did not indicate the use for any protein (huh?!) and once I mixed the ingredients, they seemed a bit watery. To fix ‘er up I added two scoops to the batter. (Which is really only 1 serving as far as EAS Vanilla Whey is concerned.) What can I say- it was a chance I was willing to take! Here’s my breakdown:

This includes my added scoops of protein!

This includes my added scoops of protein!

These were incredibly satisfying on so many levels. They tasted great and- MOST importantly -filled me up. (which is mission impossible) I don’t see anything wrong with breakfast for dinner! 🙂

Holy Heaven in my mouth!

Holy Heaven in my mouth!

Funfetti Birthday Cake Pancakes

  • 1/4 cup coconut flour*
  • 3 egg whites**
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 tbs nonfat greek yogurt
  • 2 packets stevia
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbs sprinkles of choice

* I did not have this but I did have shredded coconut. So I threw it in my Ninja and scooped out 1/4 C

** I used the equivalent of this in 100% liquid egg whites, which [i think] was 1/2C

For the frosting:

  • 1 tbs nonfat greek yogurt
  • 3 tbs protein powder (we used Cinnabun Trutein)
  • stevia to taste

Warm griddle or non-stick pan on low heat while your prepare you pancake batter. Mix all dry ingredients together until well combined. In another bowl, whisk egg whites well then add your almond milk. Slowly add your dry ingredients into your wet and whisk until well combined (note: batter should be pretty thick!). Spoon batter on to griddle and spoon half of your sprinkles on each pancake. Cook pancakes on low heat until golden brown, flipping halfway. While cooking your pancakes, mix all ingredients for the frosting (you may need a tablespoon or two of milk in order to mix). Top pancakes with frosting and remaining sprinkles. Enjoy!

The below are the nutritional values without the added protein to the batter. Check out the fiber- puts your net carbs to a sweet 10!

Servings: 1

Calories: 270

Fat: 6 g

Carbs: 27 g

Fiber: 17 g

Protein: 26 g

Leave a Reply

