The Lifting Life

I loved this article from Spot Me Girl. The images had me cracking up at work!

by Sarah Hipps –

Through my existence in the weight room, I’ve had many identifying moments when it comes to fitness. When 2″ inseam spandex became my go-to apparel for any sort of working out, I knew I was a Volleyball player. When I could down Burger King before conditioning and still outperform, I knew I was a college athlete. And when rust stains on my shirt from some old plates became awesome to me…I knew I had become a gym rat. Yep, there is a time where we all realize we identify with a new crowd, so read on and bask in the warm glow that is your fellow comrades.

you love your calluses

If you don’t think calluses are cool, then you obviously don’t lift enough to know that they are a sign of hard work. Or you have baby soft hands, in which case I might say I’m a tad jealous. Everybody loves holding hands with a weight lifter right?

@rita_flu

@rita_flu

you get giddy for your workout

Sometimes you just can’t stop thinking about how awesome your workout is going to be. How awesome you’re going to feel. How awesome you’re going to look. How awesome you’ll be when you’re on stage at the Olympia! Ok, getting ahead of ourselves, but it’s safe to say this might be the best workout of all time about to happen.

excited

excited

you cheer at the scoop being on top

Nothing makes a fresh bucket of whey better than when you unscrew the lid and there the scooper is, just sitting on top waiting for you to scoop all its proteiny goodness. If that’s not the case, you tend to feel like this:

@christinac_fitness

@christinac_fitness

platforms

A beautiful gym can put a wide grin on your face. A beautiful gym with platforms? Is this heaven? Am I in heaven right now because if so, I’m going for PR’s on everything. BUMPER PLATES BABY!

@thestrongroom

@thestrongroom

you’re a pill pusher

My 80yo Grandma ain’t got nothing on my pill popping. Vitamins make your heart healthy and your muscles big! and they do other stuff too, idk the labels are pretty complicated.

@metsports

@metsports

you’ve debated casein cake recipes

You don’t know a good casein cake until you’ve topped that sucker with creamy PB2. Until then, get out of my face. Wait…your recipe contains berries? Hol’ up a sec

@fitkitten

@fitkitten

favorite feelings:

The pump: “Oh it feels so good!”
The soreness: “Oh it hurts so good!”
The admiration: “Oh you look so good!”

@fitnessfilmsfood

@fitnessfilmsfood

you use lingo you swore you wouldn’t. like, the pump

And macros, and negs, and bro, and brah, and broham..

@mister_physique

@mister_physique

you know when machines are moved at your gym

Idk whether to be happy about a new machine, or mad I have less room to walk my giant muscles around in.

seriously though

seriously though

too much meat? just more protein for muscles

“Have I told you lately, that I love you. Have I told you, nothing gets me gains quite like you?”

@breakaway

@breakaway

you’ve pulled a muscle you didn’t know you had

My sartori-what? I’m not here for science! I just want to lift things up and put them down.

@msfitness12

@msfitness12

iifym

This phrase sucks on cut days, but is glorious on cheat days.

@iifym_memes

@iifym_memes

pre-workout is a hell of a drug

One time I tried too much Assault and I thought I was on crack. Never tried crack, but I assume it’s what it might be like. Especially because I accidentally lifted the entire rack instead of just the barbell.

@miketes

@miketes

There are so many things that can be said on this list, but these are just a few. Once you realize you’re a lifter, it is best to just give in and go with it. We fully support your calorie counting, gym obsessed, mirror checking out self.
What else are signs that you are definitely a lifter? Continue the conversation below and remember, you’re with people who understand :)

Leave a Reply

