The Rebellion Against Cardio and Why I’m Not Listening

Cardio has gotten an increasingly worse reputation. It burns muscle, leaves you “flat”, and just won’t ‘cut the fat’ anymore… says my social media #fitfam.

Image 

I’ve been reading and listening to everyone’s opinions, articles, research etc. It all makes sense, but why wouldn’t it? You could probably find an article to justify any behavior you want to. Wine reduces cancer, lose weight on the twinkie diet, and so on. 

Image

However, the key to all of the articles I have read is that, both, quality and quantity count. Meaning? Calories in vs calories out works every time, but optimal results come from the best balance of nutrition. You know what else is a sure thing? Anything out of the normal! Aka preventing muscle adaptation. 

So what am I getting at here? I am basically justifying my personal desire to take a break from the HIIT training, the strength training, the plyometrics, and everything else for a couple of days. Those are all different types of training I do on a daily basis and while I am a believer that compound movements to achieve greater results, for me, the way to change it up is to give it a break for a few days.

Say whaaat? This week I simply don’t feel like beating myself up or lifting as much as womanly possible, but I still need to get in my dose of exercise. So for me, the change is to do more cardio. Stationary cardio equipment can become less effective if you allow yourself to be lazy because the keyword is intensity. To prevent this I used multiple machines and made sure I used varied resistance levels, along with varied speeds. You couldn’t imagine how quickly a set of 15, 15, 10, & 5 goes on the treadmill, bike, elliptical, and stair-master! 🙂 

Tomorrow’s sweat plan is a dose of bikram. It’s been too long in so many ways… 

Leave a Reply

