Wedding jitters… even for those of us not getting married!

So many details to worry about… but i knew the one thing that would clear my mind and put me on the right track.

I am 100% a morning workout, on a fasted-stomach kind of girl. So the fact that we went to a breakfast buffet almost sent me into an excuse-making, lazy zone of allowing myself to skip. I mean, after all, I did make it the day before right?

…This is the point when I remind myself how happy I will be after-the-fact and that outweighs the little devil on my shoulder trying to chime in where he’s not wanted!

I allowed my stomach to digest by delaying my workout with a CVS outing, but once we got back it was Game On and even better? boyfriend came too! 🙂

With no set plan in mind, but determined to sweat, I improvised…

Elliptical Warm up and then just a set or two of each exercise:

Total body cable machine…  curls, upright rows, dead lifts, squats, rows bent over with straight bar, etc

Free weights: alternating bicep curls, alternating hammer curls, shoulder press, monkey curls, lying flys, etc

Body weighted exercises: straight leg raise/jack knife on bench, push ups with feet elevated, + pull-ups (bf assisted)

In between it all, my boyfriend’s Mom & nieces popped in to say ‘hello’.

Getting Dolled Up in the Bridal Suite

Getting Dolled Up in the Bridal Suite

At first I wasn’t sure how to handle this… What would you do? I had three choices, I could: 1. stop 2. tone it down or 3. keep chugging- I managed a combo of all three. We said hello, had a little fun, and then got back into our rhythm.

Initially, I felt bad continuing on with my workout but then I remembered something I recently heard a mother sayone of the many reasons she works out is to be a healthy role model for her children. She essentially practices what she preaches.

Don’t get me wrong, these girls do not need to get on the treadmill for a 10 mile run or the smith machine for a set of sumo squats, but I felt it couldn’t hurt for them to see me in action… something that makes me happy, how it wakes me up, gives me energy, and makes me feel ready to take on the dayno matter what day it is or where we are.

Danny's nieces & I at the wedding.

Danny’s nieces & I at the wedding.

Leave a Reply

